Who are the Sunninghill Governors?


The Governing Body of Sunninghill Prep school is responsible for determining the aims and overall conduct of the School in conjunction with the Head and senior staff. It sets and reviews the policies, plans and procedures which are designed to ensure the best possible education for our present and future children of Sunninghill. Sunninghill Governors are responsible for ensuring the proper control of the School’s finances and ensuring compliance with regulation under the guidance of the Charity Commission.

We are very grateful to our governors who offer their valuable time and expertise in order to support the school’s ambitions.

Jean Walker – Chair

Jean Walker worked for 39 years in the education sector and recently retired from her last teaching post as a Deputy Head at St Mary’s Shaftesbury. She was also the designated safeguarding lead, developed a wealth of experience in leading on Safeguarding matters in school and will provide additional support to the Lead Safeguarding Governor. Her academic and pastoral expertise has been developed through a variety of management positions, in both the state and independent sector and from teaching across all age ranges, in Preparatory and Senior schools. Jean is also an experienced ISI Inspector and has a wealth of experience across all aspects of education. Jean joined the board March 2018.

Email: jwalker@sunninghill.dorset.sch.uk

Duncan Perks – Vice Chair 

Joined the Board in March 2013. Duncan has a MSc in Economics and is a qualified accountant. Having set up and run his own Dorchester-based practice for about 20 years, he then became a partner in Old Mill Accountants for many years and is now an Independent Tax Consultant. Duncan sits on the Finance Committee.

Dr Hay-Ming Blunt – Safeguarding

Hay-Ming is a local GP Partner and GP Trainer at Fordington Surgery, Dorchester and joined the board in March 2020.  He qualified from Guys and St Thomas Medical School in 2003 and after initially training in Orthopaedics, switch to Primary Care, becoming a GP in 2011.  He undertakes a number of additional roles, acting as Clinical Lead for the Urgent Care Service for West Dorset, Clinical Lead for the Enhanced Health in Care Homes for Dorset CCG, and also as a Governing GP for the CCG.

Andrew Boggis

Andrew is a retired headteacher of a large independent day school in London. He joined the Board in March 2020. He is a former Chair of the HMC (Headmasters’ & Headmistresses’ Conference) and a past Master of the Skinners’ Livery Company in London. He has been a governor of several state maintained and independent schools.

David Brugge

David joined the Board in March 2019 and sits on the Finance & Business Committee. He is the Director of Christmas and Brugge Ltd, a local firm of Chartered Surveyors, and has worked in Dorchester for over 30 years dealing with all aspects of property for the local community.

Kaye Chittenden

Kaye joined the board in March 2021 having worked for 35 years at the Thomas Hardye school in Dorchester. She recently retired from her role as Assistant Head teacher with a responsibility for Pastoral care, Safeguarding and Well-being for staff and students. She has a breadth of knowledge in governance and experience from working with a local learning centre and the Studio school. She is also a Member of the Wessex Multi Academy Trust. Kaye will sit on the Education Committee.

Sarah Downey

Sarah Downey joined the Board in 2021.  She studied for a  BA in Classics and Archaeology and a Masters in Archive Administration at London University in the 1980s. She then worked as an Archivist in London and Dorset before taking time out to raise five sons.  She currently acts as Company Secretary for the printing business that she and her husband set up in 1991. Sarah sits on the Finance and Business Committee.

Ian Jefferis

Ian Jefferis retired from his first career in the Royal Navy in 2000 after 25 years’ service as a helicopter pilot and operations/warfare officer. During this time, he graduated from the Open University (BSc) and completed a MA in Defence Studies. He now owns and runs local businesses (Weyprint, Dorset Schoolwear) and is the UK distributor for Noble Manhattan (Coach) training. Ian sits on the Education Committee.

Chris Keenan

Chris joined the Board in March 2019 and sits on the Finance & Business Committee. He is a Partner at Humphries Kirk LLP and head the firms Court of Protection team specialising in issues of vulnerable adult mental incapacity. He qualified as a Solicitor in September 2007 and initially worked in Devon before moving to Humphries Kirk in 2011.

Rosemary Lewis – Chair of Finance & Business

Rosemary joined the Board in June 2015. She is a qualified accountant. Rosemary recently retired from the role of Practice Manager of Humphries Kirk Solicitors, prior to this position she had many years’ experience, both accounting and company secretarial, with Hamworthy Engineering in Poole.

Katie Smith

Katie joined the Board in March 2020 and sits on the Finance and Business Committee. She graduated from Cardiff University with a Business Management degree in 2002 and has worked in a number of Human Resources roles across a range of industries during the past 15 years. She is currently the Head of HR at Old Mill Accountants.

Governors’ Area

Click the button below to access the Governors’ area.